Tk34’s Weblog
The Trials of a ‘Rookie’ Blogger

Catching Up!!

My blog has been neglected!! I am finding (once again) that there are not enough hours in the day to ‘keep up’. It has been a while since I last blogged but I have many ideas in my head. I am like a ‘bad student’! I have quite a few blogs partially done (those ideas that I have) but not finished!! Thankfully, I have some time to finish a couple right now.

I have spent a lot of time the last little while reading my classmates blogs, with great interest. I have enjoyed being a ‘passive learner’ by taking a backseat to blogging and reading and commenting on their blogs. I have found this to be an excellent way to consider topics from a variety of perspectives. Although many of the topics are similar in nature, their personal thoughts are very insightful. I find myself talking to myself, agreeing and disagreeing with many of their postings, however respecting and learning from their point of view. If anything, I have learned to see things through someone else’s eyes.

Secondly, I have spent much more time on ‘the other blog‘!! ‘The other blog’ is part of my major digital project . . . I have tried to keep up with it because it is the blog that my students tune into. I know they are an impressionable audience and I feel obligated to continually write to them. I can’t be hypocritical and encourage them to embrace the potential of technology if I don’t model. They have been relatively receptive, but I would like to get more out of their responses. I guess the fact that some are responding to my postings and many have started their own blogs is a step in the right direction. I do feel as though I am making some progress.

I spent some time (through parent-teacher interviews) introducing my digital project to the parents of my students. I toured them through my science 6 class and blog in hopes that they would become a more integral part of the school, my class, and their child’s education. The response was overwhelmingly positive, however, I have not received any feedback beyond the initial introduction.

I am, however, enjoying the journey. I have learned a lot about technology and have embraced the theories behind its effectiveness and how it can positively shape today’s learners and schools. I know it is a tough sell in the school setting. It was a tough sell for me!! Reminds me of the Rocky IV movie . . . the speech Rocky gives the Russian crowd after he beat Drago in the fight . . . “If I can change” speech. Although it is in a boxing (war) context, if ‘we all can change’ (from an embracing technology stand-point) , education will be a better place!!

3 Responses to “Catching Up!!”

  1. I enjoy reading and commenting on other’s blogs as well. I have the same ideas, but others just seem to put them to the right words. Glad to hear the parents are receptive to your class blog. I think its a great experience for the students.

  2. You found my weakness. I will go to any website that promises a clip from a Rocky movie. đŸ™‚ You can’t recognize B.C. Place (where the fight scene is filmed).

  3. I agree there aren’t enough hours in the day! But, guess what, you’re getting it done!
    Obviously, your parents and students are accepting change.


Leave a Reply

