Tk34’s Weblog
The Trials of a ‘Rookie’ Blogger

Thoughts

Well, I officially became a ‘blogger’ last night . . . I successfully created my blog and not a whole lot more . . . a necessity for the Masters class I am taking. A class, I might mention, that seems very interesting, exciting, but (at this point in time) overwhelming!

I have never spent so much time in front of a computer screen trying to get to a point where I feel like my feet are on the ground. As I sit here typing, I have 4 sticky notes with user-names and passwords for a bunch of new accounts I created, that quite frankly, I am not sure how to successfully use!! You-Tube, Wiki, Blog, Google Reader . . . quite overwhelming for a guy who does not know a whole bunch about technology.

The nice thing about this whole situation is that I do not feel alone. Although I take this class through a computer screen with people hundreds of kilometres away in different locations, I feel like I am supported. I really appreciate that. I feel like many of my grade 6 students feel (at least I hope) that no matter the time or place, if they need anything to be successful in my class, I am there for them. For extra help, someone to talk to, some guidance through the last couple of math questions or the science lab, if they come knocking, I come calling. Although I feel overwhelmed, I know help is only a . . . e-mail . . . blog . . . phone call . . . skype (did I spell it right?) session away. Although I am sure that I will feel a little (or a lot) of apprehension and uncertainty for a while, but I know I will get through it. Thanks to everyone for being so helpful and supportive. Don’t be surprised if you hear from me!!

I am really looking forward to continuing to familiarize myself with these new technologies (hopefully I don’t lose my sticky notes or I am in big trouble) and network with my classmates. As I sign off for now, I am excited about hitting the ‘Save’ and ‘Publish’ button to officially begin my Blog. In just a few seconds, I will truly be a ‘blogger’!

5 Responses to “Thoughts”

  1. Hi There!
    I am in the class too and I am feeling very similarly. Although excited about the prospect of learning about all of these technologies, this first week has been one incredible mountain to climb, but like you, I became a “blogger”, have figured out what a “wiki” is, and even used MovieMaker to make my video and publish it to YouTube. And I am struggling with all of the new websites, usernames and passwords as well!! I keep typing in the wrong things! You are not alone đŸ™‚
    Cheers
    Connie

  2. Travis, I really like the way you have started this as you situate your level of learning. I’m happy to know that you feel supported, and really, you are. It’s just a matter of asking and connecting. I firmly believe in this world (especially in the last few years) it will be more important to know how to ask the questions and to make and sustain connections than to actually know the answer.

    I really like the bit in your video where you find yourself as an administrator in the school you once attended … life really has a strange way of doing that, and it must feel a bit surreal at times.

    All the best, if there is anything you need, let me know. I’ll be watching this space and waiting for your thoughts.

    Alec

  3. Hey – congratulations! You are off to a great start – recognizing that you are not alone is really important. Your personal learning network will grow and the tools will become less cumbersome as the conversations begin to flow. Have fun!

  4. Welcome to the world of blogging. I have been teaching 6th grade in California for 14 years now, and understand the adventure of teaching middle school students. I really like your thoughts on not feeling alone and feeling supported in your learning. It doesn’t matter if it is technology, mathematics, reading, or writing, if a learner feels supported and part of a community, the desire to work through the learning obstacles is heightened. My passion for learning has been renewed by a wonderful group of educators that I have never met in person. This digital age is a strange and wonderful thing. You are in good hands, as you instructor has passed on a wealth of information my direction, and although he has never met me, he continues to show patience with me as I learn. Good luck on your journey, and have fun with those 6th graders. Continue to build a learning community for them, and continue to support them through their learning struggles.

    Keep blogging.

  5. With regards to the user names, I try to use one user name. thekyleguy. I have 3 high security passwords that I use. I find keeping one user helps maintain my online identity and speeds up the sign in process. I never after to go searching for info, if one password doesn’t work then I try the other two until I get it. I have also heard of people keeping little blackbooks of user names and passwords. Another tip is to have your computer remember passwords for some of the sites you visit frequently, unless there is a chance of somebody getting on your computer and posting under your username.

    You will be well supported through this process. If I can be of any help just let me know.


Leave a Reply

